How Sweden is governed

The page was last modified:

Sweden has been a member of the EU since 1995. At national level, Sweden is governed by the Government and Riksdag (the Swedish Parliament). The Government is supported by ministries and authorities.

Parliamentary elections are held every four years in Sweden. Parliament elects a Prime Minister who in turn elects a government.

At regional level, Sweden is divided into 21 counties. Political tasks at this level are carried out by the county council, which is directly elected by the county's population, and by the county administrative boards, which are the government bodies in the county. As an EU citizen, you are entitled to vote in the county council elections.

At local level, Sweden is divided into 290 municipalities. Each municipality has an assembly, the municipal council, which is elected by the municipality's inhabitants, that makes decisions on municipality matters. The municipal council elects a municipal board, which in turn manages the municipality's business. As an EU citizen, you are entitled to vote in the municipal council elections.

Entrepreneurs should be aware that licensing and supervisory authorities may be local, regional or national. Local and regional authorities include municipalities, county administrative boards and police authorities. The Swedish Data Inspection Board and the National Food Administration are examples of national authorities.

Did you find this information helpful?

Please help us improve by telling us what you think about the page.

Mandatory field

Mandatory field

Processing of personal data

When you fill in the form, the personal data you include will be collected by the Swedish Companies Registration Office (Bolagsverket). Bolagsverket is responsible for this data. We store the data so that we can contact you. The data is not used for any other purpose.

More about personal data, your rights and how to complain

Responsible: Swedish Agency for Economic and Regional Growth

Back to top